I used the phrase… “out of the corner of my eye” this morning. And it set me to thinking about all this cogitation (and anti-cogitation…;-) on peripheral vision, and ambient perception/awareness. Also the connections I have been sensing here between immersive media and the worlds of dream/nightmare, poetry, subconsciousness… all of that…

And realizing that the “corner of my eye” is literally a momentary awareness of my peripheral vision, I began thinking on how that might relate…

And that led me to thinking, listing really, the many ways that something sensed in a micro-moment obliquely, is so often misread… and how often that mis-read can be interestingly connected to the “tiger watcher” system.

How often does a simple moire effect of an electrical wire along a table edge “look like a bug crawling by my elbow!?” A fluttering curtain becomes a peeping tom or a ghost, a rolling blueberry a mouse, a hanging coat an intruder?!

And how does this willingness to make something fantastical or threatening out of nothing relate to dreaming?